Club Calendar

Monday, January 17, 2011

Coming of Age

Twenty one years a growing

Kilmessan Bowls Club was formed 21 years ago this year. In it’s Coming of Age year the club celebrated it’s most successful year of competition with the League and Cup Double, winning the Meath Zone League Division 1 for the first time and the Abbeylands Cup.

The Meath Zone League was played against 6 other teams from around the county, including the Kilmessan B team on a home and away basis.

The Abbeylands Cup is a knockout competition played across the county. The Kilmessan team won out in the final against a team representing Navan Pitch & Putt. This is Kilmessan’s 2nd time to win this trophy.

Club Members 2011

Front Row (L/R) Niall Gorman, Cora O’Brien, Cynthie Reilly, Kathleen Geraghty, Patricia Byrne
Middle Row (L/R) Frank Gorman, Cathal Duffy, Mattie Killion, Francis Geraghty, Seamus Gibbons
Back Row (L/R) Aidan Chambers, Sean Gibbons, Michael Dennehy, Michael Brophy, Noel Duffy, Peter Gorman, Richard J Farrelly, Fintan Brennan
Missing from photograph – Tommy Horan, Cormac Brophy, Jim Bannon, Seanie O’Neill

The Enda Swan memorial trophy is played for each year by the club members to commemorate past club member the late Enda Swan who enjoyed many happy nights bowling. The photo shows Rosemary Swan presenting the trophy to this year’s winners, Francis Geraghty and Aidan Chambers, who won out over Kathleen Geraghty and Cora O’Brien.
Presentation of the Enda Swan Memorial Trophy

The clubhouse is in the old Church of Ireland building in the village and has club nights on Monday and Friday. The club has two teams, competing in the Meath Zone League at Division 1 and Division 2.